2019 Class & Info
Printable Brochure


#WeWantYou....find out what it takes to be a leader in Agriculture!

The Tomorrow’s Ag Leaders (TAL) program is a leadership development program sponsored by the South Dakota Agri-Business Association (SDABA) and designed to improve leadership skills of South Dakota men and women working in agri-business.

Are you interested in:

  • Increasing your understanding and knowledge of the programs, services and representation provided by SDABA?
  • Increasing your understanding of the state and federal legislative process?
  • Increasing your understanding and awareness of the various state and federal agencies that provide oversight of the agribusiness industry in South Dakota?
  • Increasing your leadership and communication skills through professional development?
  • Becoming a voice for agriculture through involvement in political campaigns or holding of public office?

If the answer is yes, then we are looking for you!

Here is what you will get to experience: (Attendance is mandatory at all sessions in order to graduate from the TAL program.)

SESSION I - January during Ag Expo in Sioux Falls:  Get to know each other and an introduction to the South Dakota legislative process.

SESSION II - January in Pierre:  Dig into the South Dakota legislative process and regulatory arena while meeting with legislators and state government officials. 

SESSION III - July in Washington DC:  Personal visits with the South Dakota Congressional Delegation on Capitol Hill; visit headquarters of national agribusiness associations and organizations; visit historical sites. 

SESSION IV- October in Sioux Falls, SD:  Business leadership and agribusiness advocacy training to develop an informed and confident agribusiness leader. 

A tuition of $500 per participant covers some program costs. However, the majority of the TAL program is underwritten by corporations and friends of the agribusiness industry as well as the South Dakota Agri-Business Association. 

Application (Microsoft Word)
Printable Brochure

Applications are due in the SDABA office no later than November 1 each year.  They will be reviewed, and selections made by the SDABA Board of Directors.  Applicants will be notified of their acceptance on or before November 15 each year.  
Participants selected for the program:

  1. Will be required to attend and participate in all sessions.
  2. Must be employed by a SDABA member company for the entire term of the program.
  3. Will be asked to pay a $500 participation fee to offset some of the program costs upon notification of selection.


Schedule for 2020 Class:




SESSION III (Postponed to 2021)

SESSION IV (Postponed to 2021)

Get to know each other and find out how to prepare for Session II, the South Dakota Legislative process. Dig into the South Dakota legislative process and regulatory arena while meeting with state government officials.

Personal visits with the South Dakota Congressional Delegation on Capitol Hill; visit headquarters of national agribusiness associations and organizations; visit historical sites. 

Business leadership development and political activities toward developing an informed and confident agribusiness leader. 

January 14, 2020
Sioux Falls, SD

January 27-28, 2020
Pierre, SD

July 12-16 or July 19-23, 2020
depending when Congress is in session 
Washington, DC

October, 2020
Sioux Falls, SD


2020 Class

Tom Erickson, Agtegra, Aberdeen
Karissa Floerchinger, Corteva, Sioux Falls
Steve Hilgeman, CHS Northern Plains, Gettysburg
Tony Lyren, Full Circle Ag, Doland
Tyson Martinmaas, Farmers Coop Society, Alcester
Kraig Schleusner, CHS Agronomy, Watertown
Connor Seaman, CHS Northern Plains, Selby
Tanner Skattum, CHS, Madison
Kyle Tibke, CHS Northern Plains, Gettysburg
Drew Turnis, Turnis Farm Service, Platte
Steven Zemlicka, Agtegra, Aberdeen

2019 Alumni

Mark Engen, Bayer
Casey Erickson, Full Circle Ag
Angela Hawkinson, Full Circle Ag
Ross Keegan, CHS Northern Plains
Jeff Kloucek, Tabor Lumber
Pat Ludwig, Bayer
Kelley Maassen, Winfield United
Corey Siefkes, Agtegra Cooperative
Michelle Wasland, Winfield United
Jay Wolff, Agtegra Cooperative 

2018 Alumni

Kyle Gustafson, Winfield United
Eric Miedema, Agtegra Cooperative
John Muske, CHS Northern Plains
Chris Redfield, Winfield United
Eric Paulson, Full Circle Ag
Mark Schaffner, CHS Inc
Matt Thompson, FMC
Jordan Thull, Legend Seeds
Kristyne Thull, Legend Seeds
Tara Tschetter, Agtegra Cooperative



2020 Partners



Agtegra Cooperative

Lake Area Tech Ag Department
Valley Ag Supply

Corporate Friends
Hamlin County Farmers Coop


Sponsorship Form