Custom applicators in South Dakota spend hundreds of hours in the field every year, applying fertilizer and crop protection products on millions of crop acres.  This award showcases the hard work professional applicators put into caring for crops and customers, as well as their involvement in their communities.  We are proud to recognize these outstanding people and feel they deserve all the thanks they can get.



There is no limit to the number of nominations a nominator may submit, however, a nominator may only submit one nomination for any one candidate. A nominator may not submit a nomination for himself/herself. Nominators must be members of the SDABA and candidates must be an ag retailer operator that has the primary job of operating application equipment.




Time Line

Nominations Open:  September 18, 2019
Nominations Close:  November 8, 2019
Winner Announced:  January 15, 2020 at Ag Expo


Terms and Conditions


  • Nominators: Each Nominator must be a member of the SD Agri-Business Association (SDABA) or work for a company that is a member of the SDABA.
  • Candidates/Nominees: Each Candidate must be a custom applicator of agricultural chemicals or an ag retailer operator that has the primary job of operating application equipment.

The SDABA Board of Directors shall have the right to verify the accuracy of all information submitted and also reserves the right to disqualify any Nominator or Candidate who fails to comply with the Official Rules.

To nominate a Candidate, Nominator must complete an official online nomination form available above, with all information requested and submit.

SDABA assumes no responsibility for late, lost, misdirected, damaged, illegible or incomplete Nominations. To be eligible, all Nominations must be on the official Nomination Form, completed in entirety and submitted via the Website during the Nomination Period.

There is no limit to the number of Nominations a Nominator may submit, however, a Nominator may only submit one (1) nomination for any one Candidate. A Nominator may not submit a Nomination for himself/herself.